Timestamp: First Series Summary

Doctor Who: First Series Summary

Timestamp Logo First


A little behind baseball moment on my methodology: For the purposes of this blog, I’ll round the average ratings to one decimal point. Later on, I’ll use a weighted average to determine my overall rating for each Doctor based on the serials in their runs. A weighted average will compensate for the number of serials/episodes for each Doctor’s tenure. A straight average would mean that a couple of stinkers in a small number of serials could sink a Doctor like the Second or Sixth, but would have little effect in the Fourth Doctor’s seven-year run.

This way, the number of serials and tenure of any particular Doctor has a lower worth than the overall entertainment quality of their presentations.


An Unearthly Child – 3
The Daleks  – 4
The Edge of Destruction – 2
Marco Polo – 3
The Keys of Marinus – 4
The Aztecs – 5
The Sensorites – 2
The Reign of Terror – 5

Series One Average Rating: 3.5


UP NEXT – Doctor Who: Planet of Giants


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s